Skip to content

78 providers

OpenPayd

OpenPayd Review

Is It the Right Account Provider for Your iGaming Business?

Tier 2Register read
Visit OpenPayd
E-money institution · Own license ·

A London e-money institution that issues virtual IBANs to gambling operators and to each of their players in 35 currencies, with a Maltese arm that has faced more than 80 scam-transfer complaints at Malta's financial arbiter and had its one adverse award annulled on appeal in February 2026.

Trustpilot
1.8/5 (16)
Founded
Headquarters
London, United Kingdom
Regulator
FCA
gambling businesses

Quick Info

Type
E‑money institution
Class
Own license
Regulator
FCA
License
900483
HQ
London, United Kingdom
Pricing
On request

Our Verdict: Should You Bank With OpenPayd?

Final assessment for iGaming operators, studios and affiliates

Tier 2
Own license

Tier 2: on a regulator's register and open to gambling businesses

Summary

OpenPayd holds its own FCA e-money authorization (900483) and gives an operator virtual IBANs in 35 currencies, one per player if wanted, on SEPA, SEPA Instant, Faster Payments, SWIFT and open banking, with stablecoins outside the UK. The same virtual IBAN model drew scam-transfer complaints against OpenPayd's Maltese arm at the country's financial arbiter, and Trustpilot stands at 1.8 on 16 reviews, every one a single star from a scam victim. The decision turns on whether an operator wants its players paying into OpenPayd IBANs and runs the monitoring to screen every payment that lands in them.

Strongest Point

OpenPayd allocates an unlimited number of virtual IBANs across 35 currencies, so an operator can give every player a reference IBAN to fund by bank transfer and settle affiliates and suppliers from the same balance. Incoming SWIFT reaches the IBANs in 13 of those 35 currencies, among them EUR, GBP, USD, CHF and CAD, and SWIFT payouts go out in more than 40 currencies, with an express option for GBP and EUR. Stablecoins run outside the UK, and the group's Maltese crypto company, OP Digital Services, has been a MiCA crypto-asset service provider since June 23, 2026.

Key Limitation

Scam money arriving in OpenPayd's virtual IBANs is the risk an operator takes on with the per-player model. Malta's financial arbiter dismissed three complaints over such payments because the senders' own gross negligence caused the losses. In the same decisions it found that OpenPayd had no authority to credit the payments to the virtual IBAN holder instead of the beneficiary the sender named, and it passed those findings to the MFSA. An operator that gives each player an OpenPayd IBAN carries that exposure into its own cashier. OpenPayd also issues no cards and publishes no pricing or onboarding conditions.

Recommendation

Choose OpenPayd when the per-player virtual IBAN is the product you want and your transaction monitoring can match every incoming payment to the player who holds the IBAN. Get the price list, the onboarding conditions and written acceptance of your gambling license before you build the cashier on it. For a plain settlement and payout account with the price known up front, Bilderlings charges EUR 350 a month on its gaming tariff, plus 0.50% on incoming payments and EUR 1,050 for document verification.

Pros

  • Own FCA e-money authorization since May 2018, with an MFSA financial institution license and a MiCA crypto-asset authorization in Maltese group companies
  • Unlimited virtual IBANs, one per player if wanted
  • SEPA, SEPA Instant, Faster Payments, CHAPS, SWIFT and open banking, with FX, on one account
  • Stablecoin rails outside the UK
  • API access

Cons

  • In three scam complaints it dismissed, Malta's financial arbiter found that OpenPayd had no authority to credit the payments to virtual IBAN holders instead of the named beneficiaries
  • Trustpilot 1.8 on 16 reviews, all of them one star
  • No pricing and no onboarding conditions published
  • No card program

Ready to open the conversation with OpenPayd?

On Record

1 enforcement or dispute item an operator should read before opening an account

  • Feb 25, 2026. The Court of Appeal in Malta annulled in full the only award the Arbiter for Financial Services has made against OpenPayd Financial Services Malta Limited, holding that the complainant was not an eligible customer and leaving the merits unexamined. That award, ASF 155/2024 of February 28, 2025, had ordered OpenPayd to pay GBP 23,300 plus interest to a scam victim whose money went into one of its virtual IBANs. The Arbiter has ruled on more than 80 complaints of this kind against the company. In ASF 228/2024, 135/2025 and 223/2025 it found that OpenPayd had no authority to credit the funds to the virtual IBAN holder instead of the named beneficiary and sent the decisions to the MFSA, but it dismissed all three because the complainants' own gross negligence caused the losses. None of the three was appealed. Neither the FCA nor the MFSA has fined OpenPayd. source

Gambling Policy

Whether the company serves iGaming businesses, on what terms, and which licenses and client types it accepts

“Allocate virtual IBANs to every end user, so they can top up, get paid instantly, and move between fiat and crypto”

Our reading

OpenPayd runs iGaming as a vertical of its own, and the pitch reaches past the operator's treasury into the cashier, with a virtual IBAN for each player to top up, get paid and move between fiat and crypto. Its IBANs already carry gambling money indirectly, because OpenPayd provides the virtual IBANs behind the payouts of Yaspa, an open banking PSP that serves regulated gambling operators.

Licenses named as accepted

Not stated

Client types named

Not stated

License, Read in the Register

Entity, license type and number as the regulator prints them, with the date we read the entry

  • Financial Conduct AuthorityRead , regulator's extract

    SettleGo Solutions Limited · E-money institution · 900483

    Authorised Electronic Money Institution (since May 17, 2018)

Legal entity
SettleGo Solutions Limited (trading as OpenPayd), 09570221
Headquarters
London, United Kingdom
Founded
2015
Class
Own license

Safeguarding of client money

The provider publishes no safeguarding statement we could quote. Ask where client funds are held and under which regime before you fund the account.

The Account

What the operator actually gets on the account, and what it costs to open

  • IBAN in your company's nameYes

    Dedicated account, not a pooled reference

  • SEPAYes

    SEPA Credit Transfer, Faster Payments, open banking

  • SEPA InstantYes

    Instant euro transfers

  • SWIFTYes

    35 currencies, unlimited virtual IBANs, global payouts

  • CardsNo

    No card program

  • APIYes

    Programmatic access to payments and reporting

  • Bulk payoutsNo

    Not stated by the provider

  • Crypto or stablecoinsYes

    Stablecoins, outside the UK

  • Card acquiring as wellNo

    Accounts only, no player collection

Onboarding

Non-EU companies
Not stated
Time to open
Not stated
Licenses named
Not stated

Pricing, on request

OpenPayd publishes no price list and no onboarding conditions, and it quotes fees and eligibility individually.

Named Clients and Reputation

Who vouches for the provider on the record, and what its own customers say

Named iGaming clients

None named on a first-party source. Every operator using this provider does so without a public reference.

Reputation

1.8/5 (16)

100% one-star, read Sep 1, 2026.

Not to be confused with: Openpay, the Australian buy-now-pay-later company that collapsed in 2023, and Openpay Mexico, a BBVA product, are unrelated.

Frequently Asked Questions

4 questions about OpenPayd